top of page


The Rosary is a Scripture-based prayer. It begins with the Apostles' Creed, which summarizes the great mysteries of the Catholic faith. The Our Father, which introduces each mystery, is from the Gospels. The first part of the Hail Mary is the angel's words announcing Christ's birth and Elizabeth's greeting to Mary. St. Pius V officially added the second part of the Hail Mary. The Mysteries of the Rosary center on the events of Christ's life. There are four sets of Mysteries: Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious and––added by Saint Pope John Paul II in 2002––the Luminous.​


The repetition in the Rosary is meant to lead one into restful and contemplative prayer related to each Mystery. The gentle repetition of the words helps us to enter into the silence of our hearts, where Christ's spirit dwells. The Rosary can be said privately or with a group.


    In English on Mondays and Thursdays at 8:30 AM in the chapel at St. Francis Church.


    El Santo Rosario en Español todos martes a las 6 PM dirigido por la comunidad Virgen Del Cisne y cada cuarto martes por la comunidad Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe en la iglesia de San Francisco.


    For more information, please contact the St. Francis Office at (203) 865-6149 or

bottom of page